July 2021 Wrap Up

It’s pretty obvious that I read the most books in July that I’ll ever read in a month this year!

Stats:

  • Read: 6 books
  • Two 5 stars, three 4 stars, and one 3 star
  • Favorite book of July: An Ember in the Ashes

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

 I’m not sure how much I even like the sci-fi genre anymore compared to a few years ago, but I still quite liked this. The worldbuilding was definitely a strong point, and the Cinderella retelling was very unique. I hope I like the rest of the series even more! Rating: 4 stars

Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

Eh. This was ok, in the way that lots of 2015-2016 YA contemporaries are. The writing was mediocre to the point where I felt that even I could’ve done a better job of writing the book. I still liked the travel aspect of it and was able to enjoy all the Italian culture. Rating: 3 stars

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

This story completely blew me away and is now one of my favorite fantasy books! The plot was action-packed and moved so fast, and there was excitement in every page. I loved how the author was able to write two separate POVs/plotlines and slowly interweave them throughout the book. Elias and Laia each had very different stories but I was so attached to both of them. Tahir was especially good at writing a male main character who wasn’t just a love interest. The romance was amazing, and everything was high stakes so I was on the edge of my seat at all times. I cannot wait to continue with this series! Rating: 5 stars

The Box in the Woods by Maureen Johnson

This is the 4th installment to the Truly Devious series, one of my all-time favorites. It follows a separate murder mystery, storyline, and setting, so I didn’t love it as much as the original trilogy. I also thought the mystery was not executed as well as it could’ve been and was not as engaging as the Ellingham murders. However, the writing had its signature bluntness and sarcasm, and all the main characters were as lovable as ever. If you liked the Truly Devious trilogy, you will most likely enjoy this as well! Rating: 4 stars

The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas

This is perfect for fans of The Hating Game, though I still like The Hating Game better. The office romance was very cute, and I loved putting my Spanish skills to the test and trying to translate phrases by myself. I thought the writing was a little cheesy and repetitive/stilted at times, and I wish the book focused a lot more on the wedding aspect of the plot, since it was advertised that way in the synopsis. Still, Aaron and Lina embodied the grumpy/sunshine and enemies to lovers trope! Rating: 4 stars

Mister Impossible by Maggie Stiefvater

This was book 2 of the Dreamers trilogy (a spin-off of the Raven Cycle series, which I adore). Every time I read one of Maggie Stiefvater’s books, I am reminded of just how unique her books are. Everything from the worldbuilding and writing to the characters is so unlike any other book out there. Mister Impossible was no exception, and it had me perplexed and invested in the unorthodox plot the entire time. Rating: 5 stars

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.